András Schiff: Beethoven - Late Piano Sonatas (MMF 003)

 in Category:  "Piano"

Please browse our catalogue or search and filter on the right.

András Schiff: Beethoven - Late Piano Sonatas (MMF 003)
  • (23)

Run Time: 160 minutes
Size: 1.6 GB
Share on facebook Share on twitter Share via email Share on pinterest
András Schiff, world-acclaimed pianist has in the past been primarily associated with his performances of the major keyboard works of J.S. Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Schubert, Schumann and Bartok. In 2004 he began performing the complete cycle of the 32 Beethoven Piano Sonatas in chronological order, having studied them from the original autograph scores or earliest editions. This meticulous attention to the composer's instructions have resulted in performances much praised for their freshness and authenticity even though they sometimes challenge traditional interpretations.

Here, András Schiff looks at the three great piano sonatas which end the cycle and on which Beethoven worked during final years of his life, Op 109, Op 110 and Op 111. He analyses each sonata in detail and discusses and demonstrates his personal interpretation and technique in playing these sublime works.

Available Licenses All prices include 20% VAT

Important: Burning to DVD requires Windows