Steven Isserlis: Rachmaninov - Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor Op 19 (MMF-008)

 in Category:  "Cello"

Please browse our catalogue or search and filter on the right.

Steven Isserlis: Rachmaninov - Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor Op 19 (MMF-008)
  • (10)

Run Time: 75 minutes
Size: 914.2 MB
Share on facebook Share on twitter Share via email Share on pinterest
Steven Isserlis, one of the world's outstanding cellists, is a musician known for his strong ideas and passionate convictions about music. A champion of the works of Schumann, he also gets satisfaction in discovering and introducing into the repertoire works by lesser known composers which he considers deserve a wider audience. As well as giving concerts and recitals throughout the world, he is much sought after as a teacher. He is Artistic Director of the International Musicians' Seminar at Prussia Cove in Cornwall UK, the world-renowned residential workshop for talented young musicians, started by Hilary Behrens and the legendary Sandor Vegh.

In this masterclass, he works with Guy Johnston, former winner of the BBC Young Musician of the Year competition, on the first movement of Rachmaninov's Cello Sonata. The sonata has a history in Isserlis' family - his grandfather, a pianist, performed the sonata with Anatoly Brandukhov, the cellist for whom Rachmaninov wrote the sonata.

Available Licenses all prices include 20% VAT

Important: Burning to DVD requires Windows